Crimes are categorized into two primary classes: felonies and misdemeanors. Misdemeanors are considered less severe offenses than felonies. The punishments for being convicted of a misdemeanor crime are not as harsh as felony offenses. The most significant difference between these two categories is how they may be punished by a court. When you need misdemeanor bail in Raleigh, NC, we are there for you.
Felony crimes are punishable by prison terms of greater than one year, where misdemeanor sentences are less than one year in a county jail. There are other more nuanced differences, and every case is unique, so you should consult a licensed attorney to determine the specifics of your trial. You can learn more about misdemeanor bail in Raleigh, NC by calling C.L Collins Bail Bonding at (919) 205-5322.
There are several components that comprise the potential sentence faced by someone convicted of a misdemeanor in the state of North Carolina. Misdemeanor crimes are separated into classes that carry corresponding punishments. These classes all carry a minimum of at least one day of punishment to be served and can reach up to 150 days of time to be served. Judges are left discretion when choosing a defendant’s sentence.
One of the primary determining factors employed by judges when determining sentencing and bail includes the defendant’s prior criminal history. North Carolina divides a defendant’s previous convictions into three levels.
- Level 1: no prior convictions
- Level 2: 1-4 previous convictions
- Level 3: 5 or more past convictions
There are three types of punishment available to judges in North Carolina: active, intermediate and community punishments.
- Active: Jail time to be served in a county jail
- Community: Community service or development such as probation, vocational/educational courses or other community service projects
- Intermediate: Alternative penalties such as house arrest or drug treatment therapy
Another penalty that may be levied by the court against a defendant is a fine. Fines for misdemeanor crimes are only applicable to misdemeanor offenses that permit or require jail time as a prescribed sentence. Fines can range from $200 for a Class 3 offense, or as much, as the court feels, is appropriate for Class 1 and A1 crimes.
It is important to note that a court may impose any combination of the prescribed penalties, and the longer a defendant’s rap sheet, the harsher the penalty usually is. This means that the judge presiding over your case has a great deal of discretion regarding your potential punishments.
Call Now to Make Bail
Call us today at (919) 205-5322 to speak to one of our bondsmen to learn more about misdemeanor bail in Raleigh, NC. We are more than happy to answer all of your questions because our customers are our top priority.
Remember: we are not attorneys and you should hire your own lawyer to assist you in all of your legal matters. However, we can get you out of jail fast. Our office is one block away from the Wake County Detention Facility, which allows us to bail you out faster than anyone else.