Theft Bail Bonds
After an arrest for theft or larceny, the accused is taken to jail where they are booked and processed. Once processed, defendants will be given the opportunity to be released from the custody of local law enforcement officials on bail. Once you or a loved one calls our office at (919) 205-5322, we can begin working towards your release by securing you theft bail bonds for the court. This means that the sooner we get your call for theft bail bonds in Raleigh or Durham, the sooner you can get out of jail and back to your life.
We want to help you get released in as little time as possible, which is why we are available 24/7. Additionally, we are located about one block from the Wake County Detention Facility. This means that there is no one closer to jail, allowing us to post bond faster than anyone else.
Theft & Larceny
The state of North Carolina defines the majority of its theft crimes as larceny, and if it is not otherwise specified, larceny is tried as a felony. There is no exact definition of larceny under North Carolina’s criminal statutes. The deprivation of property by one party from another, with the intent to permanently deprive that party of their property, is generally considered the standard for larceny or theft.
However, North Carolina lawmakers have outlined a few specific instances of larceny:
- Concealing merchandise in a store
- Felony larceny of motor vehicle parts
- Receiving or possessing stolen goods
- Removing a shopping cart from store property
- Stealing gasoline from a gas station
North Carolina treats theft crimes according to the value of the goods or services that are stolen. Unless given a specific designation to the contrary, larceny and theft crimes are charged as a Class H felony. The larceny crimes that are classified as misdemeanors are considered petty misdemeanors.
Shoplifting or concealment of merchandise in a store is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor for a first offense. However, a second arrest for the same crime within three years will upgrade the charge to a Class 2 misdemeanor offense.
Theft of $1,000 or less worth of goods or services is a Class 1 misdemeanor, while theft of goods or services valued over $1,000 constitutes a Class H felony.
A theft involving the following is always a felony regardless of the value of the goods or services stolen:
- Breaking and entering or burglary
- The property is taken from the possession of another
- The stolen property is a firearm, explosive or record/document belonging to the North Carolina State Archives
Civil Liability for Theft Crimes
There are certain instances where a person convicted of shoplifting may also face civil recourse. Someone who has been convicted of shoplifting may also be subject to reimbursing the store owner for:
- Actual damages (the value of the damaged or stolen merchandise)
- Punitive damages (as a punishment instead of reimbursement)
- Reimbursing the store owner’s attorney fees
The total damages awarded must fall between $150 and $1,000. Parents and legal guardians can also be subject to these civil liability if their minor child is caught shoplifting, with the exception of punitive damages.
C.L. Collins Bail Bonding can help you with theft bail bonds in Raleigh, NC and throughout Wake County. Call us now at (919) 205-5322 to get out of jail without delay!